QT Games: Turning a Corner

blended-genre_home_page.png

I’ve given the future a lot of thought. Trust me when I say that I did not turn corners and take on a new roleplaying game design and add on another campaign setting lightly. I loved the direction Cosmothea was going and the Cosmoverse has been near and dear to my heart for nearly 40 years. It still is. Forty years of writing stories, designing and redesigning, expanding and polishing my dream.

I haven’t cast either IP’s aside (heck, I just finished writing a novel based on the Cosmoverse), nor has my love for them diminished. I’d still rather play Cosmothea than any other roleplaying game. After all, I designed both to assure I got my fix of blended-genre adventure.

For the uninitiated, by blended-genre I mean science fantasy—maybe with a bit more bite—certainly with a few more genres. Superheroes, zombies, western, horror—they are never far behind. When done right, genres blend together like peanut butter and chocolate.

I love how the Cosmoverse came together and I will probably always publish stories about it. I love how Cosmothea hit all the sweet spots of what I love in a tabletop rpg and so neatly worked together with the Cosmoverse to make cool things happen. But Cosmothea 5.0 is a big rpg and is still a long ways from completion. The Cosmoverse is enormous and loads of fun, but rpg materials don’t sell very well regardless of quality, especially for a small, largely unknown publishing company like QT Games.

Even the big gorilla has struggled, and only the top names in the industry tend to make any money worth mentioning. Nothing’s a sure thing. Some of the third party companies designing for the big IPs make some money, but those of us who are going down our own paths? Just breaking even is difficult. Making a living off rpgs is uber unlikely for most folks, and requires piles of money just for a chance at making a small amount of money.

When I think of the bigger picture . . . how much time I have to put together projects and how much time you have to play them . . . when I consider the size of my budget and the need to keep expanding it to put out more cool stuff, the size of the rpg industry and available gamers, and a host of other factors, I see that I need to tread very carefully with every hour and every dime I spend. I need to play it smart.

I still hope to publish Cosmothea in some form as well as put out some Cosmoverse source books down the road (I have several very cool projects in the works), but I think the corner I turned was an important one. While the Epic Destinies Roleplaying Game and Toonaria Campaign Setting (Itself nearly 40 years old and fairly well developed) still require a lot of work, I think they will help me move forward with QT Games more effectively for now.

I’ll start unveiling the roadmap and talk more about these latest projects in the upcoming blog posts. Have an amazing week, my friends, and as always, I’d love to hear from you. Cheers!
Bob
P.s. Don’t forget I have a free fiction ebook for you just for joining our newsletter! The Train Less Traveled is an exciting, epic tale that will give you a taste of the Cosmoverse and our unusual magic system.

About Bob Whitely/QT Games

Welcome to QT Games! Mission Never publish junk or waste people's time. Publish only high-quality fiction and games. 'Nuff said. Company Overview QT Games LLC was created to publish blended-genre (fantasy blended with sci-fi, etc.) fiction, board, card and roleplaying games for a discerning gaming community. Unlike most small press, we have very strict standards: Only pro writing, pro editing and pro art. That means that if we can't get it right, we find someone who can. We pay well for what we don't do in-house. We don't cut corners on quality. This means we stand to make less money than other small publishers, but that's okay with us. We value your time and money, so we're willing to take the bullet. We've designed a large number of games and written a pile of stories. Now we're polishing some of them and getting them out the door. 'Bout time, we know. Good stuff ahead!
This entry was posted in author, blended-genre, Campaign Setting, Cosmothea, Cosmoverse, eBook, Fiction, free, Game Design, publishing, QT Games, Roleplaying, RPG, Toonaria, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

