The Road Ahead. Why all the fuss?

the road ahead

Hi folks. I’m back from what feels like a long journey without a computer, due to a major house renovation project (everything’s been boxed up). No complaints, but that project and other challenging, time-consuming events have kept me far less productive lately than I would have liked.

Being a very driven author, game designer and artist with a pile of exciting projects on my plate, not being able to produce regularly has been driving me up the wall. Things have finally settled down somewhat. There’s still boxes to unpack, but I should be able to post regularly again now.

Since it’s been awhile, I’ll start with an update, which should also help those of you just coming on board. Okay, but what’s with that blog title? Sure, let’s start there . . .

Life goes on regardless of what dreams you may be chasing. Chances are if you haven’t given up on your dreams, you’ll accomplish at least one of them to some degree during your life. Happiness is a choice. If you choose to not be happy until you’ve caught all your dreams, then you’ll probably become an unhappy person, if you aren’t already. I’ve met so many bitter game designers and discouraged authors over the years. I feel for them. I get it. It’s hard. It can be frustrating—painful, even. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Life’s a roller coaster, so don’t expect things to always go your way. The one thing that never changes is that things are going to change. In a rough spot? Chances are that will change. In a valley? Keep going, there’s a mountaintop ahead! Keep a positive attitude, but be realistic, too.

I am not remotely as far along in my dreams as I thought and hoped I’d be by now, but I’m not going to fuss over it. We are not our dreams. We are bigger. Our success or lack of it does not—or at least should not—define us, nor determine our value. “But I live for my dream!” Don’t! Live to make a positive difference in the lives of the people around you. Investing in others is a powerful, necessary component in a successful life. At the end of the day, your career, your dream . . . they’re secondary to life. I am very passionate about my dreams, but if one focuses wholly on career, other areas of life will suffer.

We need to live a balanced lives. One is never truly successful unless they are well balanced. I have a family. They are way more important to me than any career or dream (for me, those are not the same thing—not yet, anyway.) I have my faith in Jesus, and he’s too important to me to be less of a man than he’s called me to be. He isn’t ignorant of your dreams or mine. He just has bigger plans for us. I mentioned God. Did I just lose 1000 subscribers? Nah, impossible. I don’t have that many. Or do I? I haven’t checked in awhile. Don’t worry. This isn’t a religious post, but asking me to leave God out of my conversations is like asking you to stop breathing while we are talking. Get over it. I won’t be offended if you won’t. But I won’t get preachy, no worries.

Now then, where was I? The need to live a balanced life doesn’t mean we should ditch our dreams. It just means they need to be put in their proper place priority-wise. I’ve been working hard at living a balanced life. The side effect is that my career and dreams will move more slowly, and perhaps with less grandeur, but you know what? I’m okay with that.

I am moving forward—not as fast as I’d like—but I’m not going to stress myself or my family out. I can get obsessed about my dreams, but there are only so many hours in the day. Dreams don’t make the world go ’round. They just make things more interesting.

Feel like your dreams have all but crashed and burned? Don’t give up! Soberly consider them and make a battle plan for moving forward. Revisit it often and adjust your dream(s) as needed to keep them realistic, smart, doable. Oh, and live. Breath! Move forward. Passion will never be enough. Neither will talent. I’m not sure why some people’s dreams are crazy successful while others are not, but one thing the successful ones all have in common is they were the result of tons of work, and never giving up. But life? Let things get out of balance . . . and things will surely come crashing down eventually.

‘Nuff said. A quick update:

My second book: The Shadow Reaper? Done, edited to death, and even better than I could have imagined. I’m stoked about this one, friends. This horror/scifi/fantasy novel is set in my Cosmoverse Campaign Setting and reveals some really cool Cosmoverse concepts. I’ll keep you up-to-date on when it will hit Amazon. I can’t wait for you to read it. But first, I have to finish another project . . .

My third book: The Sea of Worms is over half done. It is part of a Kickstarter campaign I ran awhile back. It’s going to be much bigger than I originally promised, hence it is taking much longer. It includes plenty of art, a journal and stories from around the Cosmoverse.

As for the Cosmothea Blended-Genre Roleplaying Game, it’s on hold. It is an ancient project I’ve been working on for a long time. It was on its 5th edition when I made the difficult decision to set it aside and change directions. I decided the right thing to do would be to put together a smaller, faster, more powerful rpg. Cosmothea included my Destiny Engine, and I’m porting part of that over to the new game. Further, some of the coolest ideas in the game will also be ported over. Other than that, the new game is a ground up endeavor . . .

Epic Destinies is a card-based RPG with some nice twists. It should be able to accomplish everything I wanted from Cosmothea and more (save that it isn’t married to the Cosmoverse.) I’ve been working on it for awhile now and it’s exceeding all of my expectations. Those of you who have been following this blog for awhile have heard a little about it, and I’ll go into more details in the days ahead. Cosmothea was married to my enormous (and decades old Cosmoverse Campaign Setting.)

I will continue to support the Cosmoverse with more books (and have several cool projects planned and in the works). And I hope to revisit Cosmothea when the time is right. Epic Destinies is married to my nearly as old Toonaria Campaign Setting, an extremely different campaign setting, but one I’m equally excited about.

Everything I write and design is blended-genre, a niche that is growing in popularity every day. It has excited me since I was a teenager, and my enthusiasm and dedication to blending the genres isn’t about to wane.

Want to know more? Subscribe to my blog (Heck, join my newsletter and get a free book to whet your appetite!) Stick with me and I think you’ll really enjoy the ride. Next week we’re back to diving into Toonaria and Epic Destinies. I’d love to hear from you, friends. Have an amazing week! Never give up. Cheers!

 

About Bob Whitely/QT Games

Welcome to QT Games! Mission Never publish junk or waste people's time. Publish only high-quality fiction and games. 'Nuff said. Company Overview QT Games LLC was created to publish blended-genre (fantasy blended with sci-fi, etc.) fiction, board, card and roleplaying games for a discerning gaming community. Unlike most small press, we have very strict standards: Only pro writing, pro editing and pro art. That means that if we can't get it right, we find someone who can. We pay well for what we don't do in-house. We don't cut corners on quality. This means we stand to make less money than other small publishers, but that's okay with us. We value your time and money, so we're willing to take the bullet. We've designed a large number of games and written a pile of stories. Now we're polishing some of them and getting them out the door. 'Bout time, we know. Good stuff ahead!
This entry was posted in author, blended-genre, Campaign Setting, Cosmothea, Cosmoverse, crowdfunding, Fiction, Game Design, publishing, QT Games, Roleplaying, RPG, Toonaria, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

