Gratitude Challenge Day 6

I’m back. Between being sick and apparently not being able to read a calendar, I blew past the last Gratitude Challenge day. Sorry about that! here’s Day 6! We’re bringing this back around to fiction and gaming following next week’s Day 7.

I may start a second blog later for off-topic stuff about life that I hope you find inspirational, but time is too tight currently (as you might have guessed by this late post). Only one “day” left of the challenge and then back to my usual, including some game design diary goodies, updates and more sneek peeks. Here goes . . .

1. Comics: What an impact comics made on my life. Not only have they been a wonderful, healthy, lifelong distraction, causing me to read like mad and learn all sorts of new words (like excelsior), but they inspired me creatively. Jack Kirby in particular got me thinking epic thoughts about wild stories—larger-than-life adventures and strange, new worlds. I have a lot of fun memories and get goose bumps easily when I see some of those old titles from my youth. I doubt I ever would have thought up the Cosmoverse Campaign Setting had it not been for Jack Kirby and for being a voracious comic book reader.

2. Movies:
Star Wars and Indiana Jones were two movie franchises that had the second greatest impact on me. My jaw fell into my lap and stayed there while I watched those first two movies. They, like many that followed, served to motivate me to keep writing my own stories, to keep designing my own games and to keep dreaming! Even today, when I see a great movie, it makes me want to do something great, to write another play or another tale of life in the vast Cosmoverse!

3. My Mom & Dad: They are two very different people, but both impacted me in very different ways. My Mom lives here in town and is my biggest fan. I can’t tell you how wonderful and encouraging she is and how irreplaceable she’s been in shaping my life! She is the one who led me to Christ and is a daily example that inspires and encourages me to keep going and keep trusting in God even when times are very hard. She is sacrificial, and I can always count on her cheering me up when I’m down. She has supported every dream I’ve ever had and has invested so much time and energy and even money in helping my dreams come true. She is always quick to pray for me and see how she can help me in some way. I could never repay her for all she’s done, nor express all she means to me!

I don’t see my Dad very often, but if much time passes without him hearing from me, he calls to check in on my family and I! I didn’t live with him growing up and usually didn’t appreciate when he would try to teach me things. He wanted very much to prepare me for the days ahead and impart practical lessons. It was important to him that I was well rounded, that if I ever had a problem, I’d be able to fix it, or at least have the sense of being able to make sure someone else wasn’t trying to rip me off if they fixed it for me. He tried to teach me all sorts of things. When I was smart, I listened, and then passed his tricks and tips on to my own boys in due time. I love him and am grateful for everything he’s done over the years!

That’s it for this week. Next week is Day 7 and then back to our regular goodies, only with fewer calories and better tasting. Have an awesome week folks. Cheers!

About Bob Whitely/QT Games

Welcome to QT Games! Mission Never publish junk or waste people's time. Publish only high-quality fiction and games. 'Nuff said. Company Overview QT Games LLC was created to publish blended-genre (fantasy blended with sci-fi, etc.) fiction, board, card and roleplaying games for a discerning gaming community. Unlike most small press, we have very strict standards: Only pro writing, pro editing and pro art. That means that if we can't get it right, we find someone who can. We pay well for what we don't do in-house. We don't cut corners on quality. This means we stand to make less money than other small publishers, but that's okay with us. We value your time and money, so we're willing to take the bullet. We've designed a large number of games and written a pile of stories. Now we're polishing some of them and getting them out the door. 'Bout time, we know. Good stuff ahead!
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Hope, Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

