Gratitude Challenge Day 4

I hope you are all having a great week! It’s that time again—day 4 of the Gratitude Challenge! Looks like we’ll be back to all things Cosmothea and the Cosmoverse shortly. I’ve been squeezing in time on wrapping up the book, Arcane Synthesis (so close now!), but I’ve been working a lot of hours painting for a mobile games startup and also had to take a break to write a skit that will be performed in the Philippines this Summer, and tackle other things on my plate. So on top of everything else, I’m grateful that I have these 7 “days” of Gratitude to post as a stalling tactic till I can jump back on my regular blog postings! I think you’ll find ’em interesting though, as I’ve said before, so they aren’t really filler.

So if you’ve missed days 1-3, in a nutshell, minus the cool bits:

1) Valley experiences, Mountaintop experiences and yep, even lackluster days (read the post to know why!)
2) My amazing wife and two sons!
3) My incredible, lifesaving, patient, loving God, 3 in 1 awesomeness!

And today’s post? Three huge areas in my life: Drama, Ministries and Missions! Here goes!

1. Drama: I formed the Drama Guild in 2001 to write, produce, direct and act in plays and skits, which is ironic, since I have a poor memory and had some bad experiences acting when I was a lad (I told myself I’d never act again). But I quickly fell in love with writing plays and found I had some talent for acting (and God flat out did a few miracles during some performances that I’ll never forget and was deeply encouraged by), and I’ve been having a blast ever since! I’ve made a lot of great friends through the Drama Guild, and have even been able to help missions teams with their drama projects and even perform at other churches, and special events both here and abroad, for which I’m very grateful!

2. Ministries: Thanks to my wife’s heart for serving others, and to God for opening doors, I’ve been a teacher of every age group except High School, have worked in the nursery, have both hosted bible studies led them, have served as an usher, been a guest speaker at churches, been a part of a church council, assisted with various special events and other ministries I can’t even recall the names of off hand. I am not boasting. I’m grateful for each one of those opportunities and am pointing these out because it has been an honor! (For example, being able to meet so many kids, watch them grow, help to shape them – wow, what a blessing!) I think sometimes people think that serving others is a burden. It’s NOT easy. It’s NOT convenient, but what an honor and blessing it is to serve people! Seriously! Knowing that you are doing the right thing, that you are making life a little easier and maybe a little better for someone else— I feel lucky to be able to do that! Further, I’ve met so many great people while serving, people I might never have gotten to know well otherwise. God promises our labor is not in vain (1 Cor 15:58) and desires to bless us as we serve him. Praise God for the opportunity to serve others!

3. Missions: I’ve only been to the Philippines twice, but they have been two of the most important and wonderful trips of my life! I’m grateful for Wayne Whiteman and many others at Meadows Fellowship and beyond who made it possible for me to be a part of those trips – you are all amazing! Lord willing, I’ll be able to go there again in 2-15, but whether or not that happens, I carry with me wonderful memories of all the incredible people I met and fell in love with there. I also gained a better understanding of just how good we really have it in America, and how much God loves us. Those trips gave me a better perspective on life, and I’m grateful for the opportunity to be a part of some great things God’s been doing over there. It was an honor to assist with construction efforts and visit schools, and a blessing to be a part of opportunities to share God’s Good News, pray for and encourage others, and to be encouraged by the amazing people I met there!

If you think Cosmothea, the Cosmoverse or my occasional tangents into life, the universe and everything is something your friends might enjoy. Spread the word and I’ll be eternally grateful! See ya next week for Day 5, folks. Cheers!

About Bob Whitely/QT Games

Welcome to QT Games! Mission Never publish junk or waste people's time. Publish only high-quality fiction and games. 'Nuff said. Company Overview QT Games LLC was created to publish blended-genre (fantasy blended with sci-fi, etc.) fiction, board, card and roleplaying games for a discerning gaming community. Unlike most small press, we have very strict standards: Only pro writing, pro editing and pro art. That means that if we can't get it right, we find someone who can. We pay well for what we don't do in-house. We don't cut corners on quality. This means we stand to make less money than other small publishers, but that's okay with us. We value your time and money, so we're willing to take the bullet. We've designed a large number of games and written a pile of stories. Now we're polishing some of them and getting them out the door. 'Bout time, we know. Good stuff ahead!
This entry was posted in Encouragement, Fiction, Hope, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

