One of Nine: The Countdown Continues!

What could possibly be better than Five of Nine? I mean, Star Trek did have its assets, no doubt, and there’s much to love in that franchise…

Imagebut today I’ll be talking about One of Nine! That is, In One day, Christmas will be upon us! And in Nine days, Arcane Synthesis: A Blended-Genre Anthology will launch to wild applause (well, Ok, I can at least promise that I’ll be jumping up and down. Hopefully you will at least nod in my general direction!)

Two exciting events in under 2 weeks! Of course, while exciting, to get serious for a moment, I do hope that you will take the time to relax, enjoy family, maybe open a present or two, attend a church service if there is one (I attended a wonderful Candlelight service tonight), invest some time in your kids (if you’ve got ’em), your spouse (if you are married), take some time to eat some great food, and to reflect on what’s really important in your life (probably not whatever’s on the TV), what Christmas is supposed to be about (Jesus), not what a horrible commercial nightmare it has become.

Even though things might not be going your way (my computer crashed and ate my hard drive this week, my wife had to fly out of town for a death in the family just a few days ago, and I have no Christmas tree up, or money of my own to buy presents for my kids) and maybe this isn’t your favorite time of year because of some other event that has happened in the past that soured the month of December for you, I pray that you are able to focus on what is going your way; that you are able to find joy in knowing that you are special in God’s eyes, and that you have friends and family that care about you (a friend from church just gave me some money to buy a few gifts for my kids). If you don’t think anyone cares about you, it’s likely that you are wrong (I care about you, and I’m more than happy to write you an email to prove that I do, if it comes to that).

Like my pastor said tonight, while everyone knows Jesus wasn’t born on Christmas day, we like to take this one day out of the year to set everything aside (including both our desire to have our own needs met) and both celebrate the birthday of Jesus, or as the Bible explains, the day God came to the Earth in the flesh, and spend our time seeing about how we can meet the needs of others. While I know kids love toys, from my experience they love even more than that, when a parent treats them like they are important, invests time in them and is encouraging and loving. That’s a powerful gift we can give our kids whether we have money for presents or not!

If you’ve been reading my facebook page, then you know that I’m a firm believer that it is far more fun to give than to receive. Oh sure, I enjoy getting gifts, but when I look back over my life, my most fun and most fulfilling times have always been when I invest in other people’s lives.

I had the pleasure of being sponsored to go to the Philippines again this year, and while there I was able to help with construction, feeding people, bringing supplies, praying and encouraging and teaching people as well as doing some drama (being an actor is one of the many hats I wear), I went there to bless others, but in both the times I’ve been there, I have been unable to out bless those I’ve come to serve! I encourage you this Christmas to invest in other people. I promise you will never regret it!

And I encourage you to not believe the rumors and misinformation you hear about Jesus, but to study the Bible and pray on your own to determine the validity of what the Bible says. I promise you’ll never regret that either. Too many have merely read the Bible, rather than studying it, and since it isn’t a children’s book, but contains wisdom and truths that can make a powerful impact on one’s life, it’s far, far more profitable than merely reading it, which was never the main intent. There’s a reason why this time of year is tied to depression and suicide. When we take our eyes off of what’s important and put it on meaningless stuff (like presents), our whole lives get out of balance. There’s nothing wrong with giving gifts, but the greatest gifts can’t be found in a store.

And to clarify another misconception, when it comes to prayer, many use it with vending machine mentality. Merely a quick prayer once or twice or even a dozen times and giving up isn’t the way it works. You get out more than you put in, but if you don’t put much in, we shouldn’t expect to get much out of the deal. If we gave our spouses that little of our time, it would quickly become evident that they didn’t really matter to us. If we aren’t willing to invest serious time in God, we shouldn’t expect miracles. He desires to have a relationship with us, not be treated like a Twitter friend. He desires to help us, but if we don’t give him the time of day… well, ’nuff said.

I hope you have a Merry Christmas (and no, I won’t apologize for saying that, instead of “Happy Holidays” which offends many people who are religious, and they already hear it enough… and it is Christmas after all, but if I have offended anyone, that was not my intent… please know my heart in it, that I wish you all the best). And I hope you have a lot of fun, and a safe New Years! I also pray that 2014 will be your and our best year ever, come what may!

Note: While I am touching on 2 topics today and it would normally be my 2 for Tuesday, I did not put up the logo intentionally. As I move into the new year, I will be setting that structure aside for a time at least. We’ll need to play things a bit loose as we edge into a very busy January and I will be restructuring the blog somewhat for 2014, starting in February, likely, but you’ll see more and regular blogs from me soon. And speaking of January, that brings us to the Nine I spoke of above!

In Nine days, our Kickstarter launches! Yay! Can’t wait. And yet, there’s more to do. There’s always more to do when it comes to Kickstarters. Here’s an update for you…

Our Kickstarter Amazon account has been approved, our Kickstarter page has been approved and I somehow found a way to trim our Kickstarter video down below 2 minutes! The page is all done, though I’m giving it one more review. I’m also in the middle of setting up some advertising for the campaign and am in contact with many of the authors, several of which have already started on their stories, anxious to see the Kickstarter funded so we can get off and running officially!

Jason Rainville tells me he’s earmarked some time in February to paint the official book cover and I’ll be showing off some of his sketches and even give backers a chance to vote on which of Jason’s sketches will become the cover of the book! I’ve also designed the logo and other cover matter for the project and will start working on a 3rd video soon that I hope to include in a future update! (The second video is up on my website and will also be up on the Kickstarter page). I can say with all honesty that there’s some good stuff ahead. As to whether any of it gets into your hands is up to you! I’m working my tail off to publish hot products you’ll fall in love with, but without your standing beside us and our Kickstarter, it won’t happen. If you love blended-genre stories like I do, I encourage you to jump on board when this thing starts to take off January 2nd!

Again, Merry Christmas, and let’s make it an awesome January and unforgettable new year folks!

About Bob Whitely/QT Games

Welcome to QT Games! Mission Never publish junk or waste people's time. Publish only high-quality fiction and games. 'Nuff said. Company Overview QT Games LLC was created to publish blended-genre (fantasy blended with sci-fi, etc.) fiction, board, card and roleplaying games for a discerning gaming community. Unlike most small press, we have very strict standards: Only pro writing, pro editing and pro art. That means that if we can't get it right, we find someone who can. We pay well for what we don't do in-house. We don't cut corners on quality. This means we stand to make less money than other small publishers, but that's okay with us. We value your time and money, so we're willing to take the bullet. We've designed a large number of games and written a pile of stories. Now we're polishing some of them and getting them out the door. 'Bout time, we know. Good stuff ahead!
This entry was posted in Cosmothea, Fiction, Kickstarter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

