2 for Tuesday #16: Pre-Kickstarter Update and QT Games’ Long-range Goals

https://qtgamesblog.files.wordpress.com/2013/08/2-for-tuesday-logo.jpgWelcome to Tuesday night and another 2 for Tuesday! Ok, I have to tell you guys that as the days draw nearer and nearer to January 2nd (Launch day for those not up on our upcoming Kickstarter: Arcane Synthesis: A Blended-Genre Anthology), time is getting tighter and tighter for doing things like a blog. I could really use a time machine. Even so, I’m committed to the blog. I just only have so much time in the day, so these blogs may be released a tad inconsistently for a bit or shorter than usual. Since my mind is being eaten by the Kickstarter monster and some freelance work on my plate, Part 1 will be an update on our Kickstarter and Part 2 will discuss QT Games’ long-range goals. We’ll keep this one short for reasons already stated. So, here we go!

Part 1: Pre-Kickstarter Update
There’s really a huge amount of work that goes into doing a Kickstarter right. It’s not something to be taken lightly. I’ve been pouring in 40-50 hours per week on it for several months, on top of everything else I have going on. Not complaining, mind you, just giving you a sense of the commitment. We’ve got 2 videos completed (the Kickstarter video and a video about the Cosmoverse, our official campaign setting of the Cosmothea Blended-Genre Roleplaying Game). I’d love to do a 3rd video that goes more into our unusual magic system and show off some more critters, if I can find the time to squeeze that in! I’ll do it eventually, but hopefully I’ll get ‘er done before the Kickstarter is over.

I have all of the Rewards sorted out and up on the page. The Kickstarter page is done, save for any editing that needs doing. I’m having a few pairs of eyes looking it over now. I’ve started creating some of the Rewards (we have lots of cool Rewards. This isn’t boasting or exaggerating. I worked hard to make sure Backers get a lot of goodies). Some of the Rewards will need to be created later, such as the books, of course. But everything’s looking good.

I’ve been pulling together the 2nd team for our Divine Synthesis Anthology, which is one of our Stretch Goals and an exciting one as I’ve got fantasy legend Ed Greenwood on board, as well as Darrin Drader, Steven Schend and other talented writers. We’ve got all the stories sorted out for Arcane Synthesis and are starting to put together the stories for the second book. I’ve been in negotiations with writers and Jason Rainville, our wonderful cover artist. Did I mention we have some fabulous rewards?

So what’s left to do to get this Kickstarter off the ground? Well, I will be very busy next year, so I’m trying to make as much progress on the Reward creation as possible, but there’s other fish to fry as well. We still need to get the Kickstarter page approved by Kickstarter.com. That’s right, it’s not automatic. They review all pages to make sure they follow their policies. I also need to set up an Amazon Payments account and a business account for QT Games at my local bank. I need to get feedback from various sources on the Kickstarter page and art I made and make sure it’s ready to roll.

There’s a few goodies here and there that need to be taken care of as well (such as making an ad for Kicktraq) so that things go smoothly for our launch the morning of January 2nd, 2014. I don’t forsee any problems as long as Kickstarter doesn’t drag their feet when we submit the project. We should be good to go soon!

I need to finalize some things for the Divine Synthesis anthology so that it’s ready to roll if we reach the Stretch Goal (and that’s an important and exciting Stretch Goal, so folks, if you’d like to see some awesome stories and see both the Cosmothea RPG and Cosmoverse get off the ground, I’d sure appreciate your standing with me on this one. This Kickstarter is pivotal for us!

Part 2: QT Games’ Long-range Goals
With starting up Cosmothea 5.0 in January of 2013, I decided we would be more transparent about everything and I’ve tried to go behind the scenes more and talk about things, show off way, way more artwork and talk more about both the RPG and campaign setting. Our long-range goals are multi-fold: Following the Kickstarter, we have numerous novels and anthologies planned (frankly more than I can write before I die). I have story concepts and outlines for many of them and the rest are in my head. I also want to publish short stories and even novels set in the Cosmoverse, by other authors. Arcane Synthesis kicks that goal off. I set aside a trilogy (Nexus Gates Book 1: A Strange Acqaintance) in order to write a couple short stories for Arcane Synthesis, but I look forward to getting back to the trilogy. I also look forward to bringing on board another author or two down the road to share some of the Cosmothean love.

We need to increase awareness of and appreciation for what the Cosmoverse is, and also the Cosmothea Blended-Genre Roleplaying Game, which I’m very fond of, or I wouldn’t have spent 34 years on various incarnations of it and mapped out the rest of my life to spend even more time on it! We want to start publishing campaign setting content as well as the roleplaying game itself. those two are very important goals to me.

That’s not to say I don’t have other irons in the fire. I’ve actually written a few children’s books that I’d like to publish and have created prototypes for over 2 dozen board and card games, some of which I would also like to publish in the days ahead. But I can’t do everything myself. There’s only so many hours in the day! So, I’ll be looking to build a new Design Team and bring back my old Art Team from Cosmothea 4.0 in the days ahead so that we can begin to publish these various goodies as we manage to get the funding!

Update: Tuesday, Dec 17th, you may well be staring at the blog and not see our usual 2 for Tuesday. I’ll try to do one sometime on the 18th. As we near our big Kickstarter launch, time is getting a bit chaotic. I need a time machine!

About Bob Whitely/QT Games

Welcome to QT Games! Mission Never publish junk or waste people's time. Publish only high-quality fiction and games. 'Nuff said. Company Overview QT Games LLC was created to publish blended-genre (fantasy blended with sci-fi, etc.) fiction, board, card and roleplaying games for a discerning gaming community. Unlike most small press, we have very strict standards: Only pro writing, pro editing and pro art. That means that if we can't get it right, we find someone who can. We pay well for what we don't do in-house. We don't cut corners on quality. This means we stand to make less money than other small publishers, but that's okay with us. We value your time and money, so we're willing to take the bullet. We've designed a large number of games and written a pile of stories. Now we're polishing some of them and getting them out the door. 'Bout time, we know. Good stuff ahead!
This entry was posted in Cosmothea, Fiction, Game Design, Kickstarter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

