2 for Tuesday #7: Cosmothea Update and Anthology Update

2-for-Tuesday-logoOk, this post won’t receive as thorough of an edit as it likely needs, but it’s already Wednesday and that’s pushing the 2 for Tuesday deadline farther than I wanted, heh. I was working hard on Tuesday and it was early Wednesday morning before I even remembered it had been a Tuesday, so I have no lofty excuse. Thanks for stopping by and I’ll try to watch my calendar better!

I look forward to these blog posts and have no intention on slowing down my posts or stopping. Just got a lot going on, and that’s what I thought I’d talk briefly about today. I’ll give you another update on Cosmothea as well as one on our upcoming Kickstarter: Arcane Synthesis. Sound good? I hope so, because here we go!

Part 1: What’s New with Cosmothea?
Having finished our first big video all about Cosmothea, I’ve started working on a few related projects: A universe map and a diceless version of the Cosmothea RPG.

For the longest time, I was using a huge star map sketched out on a big Bristol board. It got difficult to move about and I decided to break it all down into sectors. I expanded the map with more star systems (I note the worlds, not the stars on the map, as that’s where the action is, and frankly most people don’t care what sun is over their world; they write down the name of their home world on their character sheets). Anyway, That was nice and fit into a 3-ring binder and all, but you lose the scope of seeing it all on one big sheet and the distances, the visual appeal… I’ve always wanted to have a color map! I made one a few years ago, but always wanted a more detailed map and it never covered all the regions I wanted it to.

I’ve started putting together an uber map. A piece of the new, unfinished map appears in the big video I made and posted on the site (check it out if you haven’t! I’m rather fond of it! So, I’m making a big, color star map to cover the entire Cosmothea Universe… well, by no means the whole thing, still not much more than a sampling, but still much bigger, and more detailed than any star maps I’ve made before. The final size will be around 20 x 30” in full color. On previous maps, I’ve indicated the height on the galactic plane. I won’t be showing that this time, though that will be listed in the setting material, along with distances for travelling about, at least among popular trade routes along major worlds. Later, I’ll give you a chance to add some worlds to the map as well, before I go to the printers! I’ll talk about that later. J

As for my work on a Diceless system, I’ve designed them before, but I’m very happy with this latest one. It doesn’t replace my existing resolution mechanics, but it will be included as one of three core mechanics to determine outcomes. Cosmothea has 3 options and as I mentioned on facebook recently, the diceless mechanic I came up with is quickly becoming my favorite of the 3. I never thought I could have so much fun without dice! I’m not trying to get rid of dice and the other two systems use dice. In fact I still use a “Cinematic Roll” with the diceless system, so it’s not completely diceless, but the Cinematic Roll is optional and you don’t need it. I just like how it brings in the cinematic feel present in the other two systems. Having three systems is part of my goal for Cosmothea 5.0: Offer various ways to play the same game and loads of options. But I don’t want options just for the sake of having them. I stand behind the game and am very pleased on the direction it’s taking (I just wish we could get it done sooner, but that will require a bigger budget, er rather a budget).

We’ve been playtesting the diceless version in the past few game sessions, spotted some rough edges and I polished them over the past week. I’m very excited about this new system – more excited than I thought possible for a diceless system, and while it will be awhile before we know for sure that it’s the hot ticket to include in the game, I look forward to the days ahead. So many neat elements have come into place, making Cosmothea 5.0 a project I love working on!  While it would be cool if I could say to myself, “Cosmothea’s been on the market for X years and it just keeps getting better and better!” I’m glad that the world at large will (if all goes well) get to see a much better version of Cosmothea than my earlier efforts. While I feel that each version of Cosmothea (even the earliest, 1.0) had its charm and potential, some really nifty and innovative concepts (and some not so innovative), I have no regrets waiting. While my playtesters have been very patient as the game has finally started coming into its own (hey, I’ve had a family, ministry and day jobs to keep me busy all these years!) I’m glad that the rest of you will get to see and play a really cool game one day! Now, if I can just get the funding tackled, we’ll be off and running. Till then, I’ll keep fixing, polishing and expanding!

Part 2: Arcane Synthesis Blended-Genre Anthology Update
I’m aware that not all of you follow along with what’s happening over at the QT Games Forums (join today!), but I’ve been talking about the anthology over there. You can too by going here, so you don’t miss a thing. So, I thought I’d give you an overview of the basics and call it a day!

We just brought on board game designer and writer, Steven Schend! The team of authors is now complete!

Author/Story for the anthology:
• Robert Duran: Wisdom of the Shell
• Allen Farr: Spectre of War
• Lee Hammock: TBA (A detective story)
• Joseph Stirling: (Found Lost)
• Steven Schend: TBA
• Bob Whitely: The Train Less Traveled and also Voices

Editors:
Bob and Joan Whitely (Joan is an award-winning journalist, published author, editor and researcher with several books under her belt. I’ve written and produced numerous plays and skits, crafted two novels and am working on another (and hope to publish in the days ahead). I’ve also provided editing and feedback on manuscripts, written more short stories than I can keep track of, won first place in TSR’s National Monster Design contest and am the visionary behind all things Cosmothea.

Overview:
Ok, maybe you’ve seen this all before, but for those who haven’t, here we go:

Title: Arcane Synthesis: A Blended-genre Anthology

Kickstarter Blurb:
8 tales blending magic, mystery, advanced technology, superheroes and horror, set within the Cosmothea Blended-Genre RPG universe.

Funding Period: Thursday morning Jan 2nd, 2014 – Sunday night, Feb. 2nd (32 days)
Category: Publishing – Fiction
Kickstarter Goal: Under Construction
Publisher: QT Games LLC
Publication Date: January 1st, 2015 (Backers Only)/January 31st for everyone else
Printers/Distributors: Amazon (via CreateSpace) and OneBookShelf (via DriveThruFiction); possibly others.
Book Dimensions: 6.14 x 9.21
Word Count: 100,000 words+
Formats: Ebook (PDF, ePub and Mobi as well as trade paperback and hardcover via POD)
Cover Painting: Jason Rainville

Jason recently finished the sketches for the cover painting and I have the logo and other cover elements comped and I can tell you folks with confidence that we’re going to have a pretty cover! I’m very pleased to have each of the team members on board for this project and know that you will get a kick out of this project. I’d love to hear your thoughts, so don’t be shy! That’s all for today. See you next Wed… er Tuesday!

About Bob Whitely/QT Games

Welcome to QT Games! Mission Never publish junk or waste people's time. Publish only high-quality fiction and games. 'Nuff said. Company Overview QT Games LLC was created to publish blended-genre (fantasy blended with sci-fi, etc.) fiction, board, card and roleplaying games for a discerning gaming community. Unlike most small press, we have very strict standards: Only pro writing, pro editing and pro art. That means that if we can't get it right, we find someone who can. We pay well for what we don't do in-house. We don't cut corners on quality. This means we stand to make less money than other small publishers, but that's okay with us. We value your time and money, so we're willing to take the bullet. We've designed a large number of games and written a pile of stories. Now we're polishing some of them and getting them out the door. 'Bout time, we know. Good stuff ahead!
This entry was posted in Cosmothea, Fiction, Game Design, Kickstarter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2 for Tuesday #7: Cosmothea Update and Anthology Update

  1. Looks great Bob! Can’t wait to see the finished product!

Leave a Reply

