2 for Tuesday #2: QT Games Site Update and Beyond Xanadu

2-for-Tuesday-logo
Welcome to another 2 for Tuesday! This time around, I’ll provide an update on the QT Games website as well and then discuss

QT Games Site Update
Today I updated the home page with a short video I’m working on for the upcoming Arcane Synthesis Kickstarter. I made a fun, animated version of the QT Games logo, a logo for the anthology and had some fun with it. Warning: Includes music I put together (some heavy slice and dice work on a royalty free piece) so if you’re at work, you might want to turn it down so you don’t disturb others (though it’s definitely cooler with the sound turned up). I liked the way it turned out, so now it’s on the home page.

I also included, under the appropriate icons on the left side of the home page, 2 new paintings by the amazing artist, Jason Rainville (the genre icons). The new paintings include: Cosmos, a superhero who is a member of the Defense League, a cosmic-powered being able to fly, create stargates and forcefields to move dimensionally and deflect attacks, among other things. Ok, so if you’ve been following this blog since near the beginning, I think I posted a pic of Cosmos awhile back, but it’s new to the QT Games site. And you can read up more on superheroes in Cosmothea while you are there, as well as a couple other genres listed. The game includes horror too, of course, and other genres, but I just listed the big 3, and of course Cosmothea blends them and if you ever play the game or use the setting for your own game, you can blend to taste!

The second painting is of a Sentinel. An expert in security systems, demolitions and small weapons, Sentinels are often contracted by megacorps to test their Defense Grid, software and hardware and develop defense strategies. Performing consultations, On-site Analysis and Black Ops, Sentinels sometimes find themselves in dangerous situations and on the wrong side of a corporate takeover or Gridrunner.

Defense tacticians, Sentinels are sometimes hired to accompany transports, upgrade private and even military and para-military defense systems as word of mouth spreads regarding their talent and reliability. A Sentinel is a great asset to any team, drawing upon a variety of useful talents and tools of the trade.

Beyond Xanadu™
Twelve years ago, I wrote Book 1 of a trilogy called Beyond Xanadu. It came out to 450 pages and was a pretty nifty story, firmly planted in the Cosmothea Campaign Setting. I started a rewrite immediately after, but after a short time, despite my enthusiasm, I felt called to launch into writing and producing plays. I don’t know why. I just did – it was a strong calling, so I didn’t resist, and promptly formed The Drama Guild, started a podcast, forum and website, got a bunch of people together locally and started writing, producing, directing and even acting in plays. Turns out I had quite a knack for it. And it’s helped me in my fiction writing as well, fortunately (I just adore writing dialogue!)

I now have a pile of videos waiting to be made into podcasts (who knows when I’ll find time for that), and I’ve since shut down the forums and will soon shut down the Drama Guild site, though not the Drama Guild (my time is so tight that I can’t keep that drama site up-to-date anymore).

Twelve years later, I’m still writing them (and a good number of skits as well). While I’ve never gotten back to that novel, much less finished the trilogy, it’s on my To-do list. I’m still very excited about that trilogy. Even so, I felt that my Nexus Gates Trilogy, of which
A Strange Acquaintance is the first book, would be a stronger first trilogy for me, so it will be awhile before I get back to Beyond Xanadu. Here’s a snippit from the first draft of the novel (i.e. it hasn’t been polished, and is not my latest work). I’ll have to rewrite that novel to death and will talk about it another time.

This snippet mentions a product called Smartshirts: Nanite garments that can be configured to both alter your changing figure as well as the garment’s appearance using a subscription service (for downloading the latest fashion). Smartshirts were a seemingly minor technology that went awry IN A BIG WAY. Although it is an extremely minor scene in the story, the consequences of the nanovirus ended up changing life on many worlds. It’s a wild storyline that I only hint at here, and that resurfaces elsewhere, causing more problems than you would ever think possible for a wardrobe malfunction. Crazy, I know. Anyway, thought I’d share it with you. The reason the people in this scene are so excited is that they are going to Xanadu, a new kind of amusement park that resides extra-dimensionally. Here you go:

“The usual awkwardness of being sandwiched between strangers in a cramped lift was replaced by a sudden, irrepressible wave of excitement. Certain that even their darkest fantasies would soon be realized, they abandoned lift etiquette and stared at each other, hoping to discern whether another’s fantasy was as wholesome or lecherous as their own. The moment the lift doors had shut, a petite, smartly-dressed klatuan anchor woman materialized on the wall vid, but few bothered to look, and fewer listened.

. . . eighty one year old, Arol Drenk, a retired Relorian skycab driver residing at the Briswohl Metroplex, was found dead at two thirty this morning. Hoon Vas, Drenk’s landlord, told ANN correspondent, Mikael Woo, he heard someone pounding on his door and called the BPD to report a disturbance. When the pounding stopped, Vas reported waiting approximately five minutes before opening his front door. Vas claims to have found Drenk’s body on his doorstep, clutching the collar of his DvO Smartshirt. Sergeant Rummel with the BPD confirmed the victim was wearing a Smartshirt at the time of death. According to a coroners report just released, cause of death was strangulation.”

Note: Of course, as with everything that pops up on this blog, it’s copyrighted. ©2013 QT Games LLC. Why? Well, because this blog is devoted to going behind the scenes and showing what QT Games is up to and therefore it reveals bits from our future product line. One day, Lord willing, I’ll be able to say, “From our current product line”, meaning that some of this stuff will get on the market!

I feel confident you’ll be seeing Arcane Synthesis: A Blended-Genre Anthology. If you would like to see the anthology and other Cosmothea offerings, please spread the word and stand with us when our Kickstarter goes live. I would be eternally grateful! Till next Tuesday, have a great week all!!!

About Bob Whitely/QT Games

Welcome to QT Games! Mission Never publish junk or waste people's time. Publish only high-quality fiction and games. 'Nuff said. Company Overview QT Games LLC was created to publish blended-genre (fantasy blended with sci-fi, etc.) fiction, board, card and roleplaying games for a discerning gaming community. Unlike most small press, we have very strict standards: Only pro writing, pro editing and pro art. That means that if we can't get it right, we find someone who can. We pay well for what we don't do in-house. We don't cut corners on quality. This means we stand to make less money than other small publishers, but that's okay with us. We value your time and money, so we're willing to take the bullet. We've designed a large number of games and written a pile of stories. Now we're polishing some of them and getting them out the door. 'Bout time, we know. Good stuff ahead!
This entry was posted in Cosmothea, Fiction, Kickstarter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

